Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and that you were able to spend it with family and close friends. The day wasn’t very exciting, but there was much to be thankful for. It was nice spending time in quiet today.

After breakfast, my aunt and I worked the daily crossword puzzle in the paper. This time, we found all the answers. We watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, and then the dog show. I loved them all, but I was very happy the Irish Setter won Best In Show. I didn’t even know it was on, but I found myself enjoying the original Miracle on 34th Street againeven more relevant today than when it was first produced in 1947. A friend sent us a Thanksgiving card with a yellow Lab puppy–something he suspected I would like a lot. He was right.

After dinner and “Jeopardy!” we read chapters of Rose in a Storm and Through a Dog’s Eyes. There’s something really cool about taking turns to read aloud to family members. It’s not like reading out loud in a class or public speaking. It doesn’t matter that you read perfectly; what’s important is reacting to the story, and even more so, that you hear and remember and enjoy the beauty and warmth of family members’ voices.

My aunt and I didn’t start reading to each other until we became interested in the same books. I never finished in time enough for her to read the selection well, so once David McCullough came out with John Adams, we decided to read together. It was so much fun and so emotional as we reacted to what we read that we soldiered on with 1776 and  Truman–we loved them–and never looked back. McCullough always gives rich details. By the end of the book you feel like you know the people, places, and time periods. You feel like you are there.

We added two FDR titles to our list from separate authors, and have also read each of President Obama’s books. Unfortunately, my aunt is a little intimidated by Ron Chernow’s Washington: A Life. She says I’m on my own with that one, because of the type. I tell her we can get through a book of any length. We’ll see….

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Goings-On

Leave a Reply

