One Hour Left

Let’s face it: if anyone had an hour left to live, there would be no time to worry about work, hobbies, computers, books, or any of the things that we build our lives around. That’s all junk. All that doesn’t matter anymore, and shouldn’t have overshadowed more important people and things in the first place. In this last hour, I would want to spend time with the people closest to me, and also have a cat and dog on my lap, and perhaps some yellow roses nearby. I’d tell everyone again, except this time would be the last time, how much they mean to me, and how much I would miss them. I’d give them all hugs, and I’d try not to cry. I wouldn’t want to make other people unhappy. Maybe we could sing a favorite song or two, and reread some favorite Scripture verses, and laugh over happy times. I wouldn’t be spending that time in anger and regrets–those burdens are much too heavy to carry at any time. I will continue doing my best to let them all go. I will feel lighter that way.

The thing is, nobody gets to plan their final 60 minutes out. Nobody knows their final hour, so appreciate life while you’re living it, as the play Our Town so eloquently shows. Live it to the fullest extent that you can, and pay attention to the small things. Notice and remember everything. You can’t go back.

For some reason, this WordPress Daily Post theme reminds me of Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet in Heaven. I really like his work, but I never have been able to read that book fully. Maybe someday I will be able to do so. My favorite scene from Tuesdays with Morrie, where they recall a college football game. The crowd chants: “We’re number 1! We’re number 1!” Morrie stands up and loudly asks: “What the hell’s wrong with being #2?”

Another thing to think about….

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, postaday2011

Leave a Reply

