Librarians, Unshelved

I am not, nor will I ever be, a librarian. I’ve been mistaken for one a couple of times. I thought everybody noticed cataloguing errors (that day I gave the reference librarian on duty a hearty laugh; she said they would correct it). What’s wrong with providing call numbers during shelf checks? I must be odd. I guess it comes with being an editor and proofreader. I have trouble turning it off sometimes.

Should I have chosen this career path? I’m not sure. Career materials are certainly better than they used to be. The ones I read during college were awful. I didn’t think it was for me, so I turned tail and ran. I knew I’d be hanging around libraries anyway in another form. I talk too loud for library work anyway, and am too rambunctious in other ways. I must be doing pretty well, though. No one’s told me to be quiet in seven years.

I like reading librarians’ blogs, but am careful not to go overboard. They give me research tips now and again. “Swiss Army Librarian,” by Brian Herzog, is the best. I never would have known about it if I hadn’t read This Book Is Overdue!.

I discovered a great comic strip called “Unshelved,” which takes place in a public library. Most days it is funny.

Leave a comment

Filed under Libraries, New Titles

Leave a Reply

