The Owls of Ga’Hoole

I’m looking forward to seeing Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole on DVD soon. People recommended it to me. The moment I saw the movie trailer, I wanted to read the books by Kathryn Lasky. I had never heard of them. I didn’t realize at first that there were 15 titles, plus The Lost Tales of Ga’Hoole and one other book that tells some of the background stories in more detail. Kathryn Lasky was originally going to write six books, but fan enthusiasm encouraged her to continue the saga. I’m way past the age for children’s books, but I had a wonderful time. You can really tell that Lasky loves and respects nature and all of its creatures. You can also see the love of history that imbues her other works.

Other reviewers dismiss the series as”Harry Potter for Owls,” but since I have no plans to ever read Harry Potter, there are no comparisons. I saw similarities to Watership Down and The Wind in the Willows. My particular favorites were The Coming of Hoole, The First Collier, The Hatchling, and To Be a King. Soren was my favorite of the bunch, but I also liked Grimble, Gylfie, Otulissa, and Ezylryb a lot.

This series reawakened my admiration for owls beyond receiving an owl pin and Soren and Gylfie Beanie Babies for Christmas. Soren & Gylfie now have prominent places on my bookshelf. The Owl Pages are excellent beginning resource materials about real owls. I enjoyed learning about the Patuxent River Nature Center in the Post, which studies owls and protects them, along with many other local animals at the Watkins Nature Center.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Animals, Love of Reading

One response to “The Owls of Ga’Hoole

  1. Pingback: Mysteries by Kathryn Lasky | Carrie's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

