Here’s to the Creator of Koko and Yum Yum!

Not a long post today….

I learned a couple of days ago through Freekibble.com that Lilian Jackson Braun passed away on June 4, 2011, at the age of 97. She gave cat and mystery lovers a wonderful gift when she created The Cat Who… series. I’m sad that there won’t be any more. While not a great choice for a book discussion, they are pleasant diversions, especially during a commute or relaxing with a cup of coffee or tea.

Qwilleran is the private detective, and Koko and Yum Yum are his Siamese cat sidekicks. I haven’t read them all, but the one I seem to remember most is The Cat Who Read Shakespeare. In one book, I was especially pleased that one of the characters was opening a historic manor house to public tours–and wanted to make sure it was accessible to people in wheelchairs. It was just one sentence, but that really touched me. I also liked her gentle, everyday humor throughout the books.

I discovered this fan website way too late. I hope it is still active.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Animals, Love of Reading, postaday2011

Leave a Reply

