“How the Grinch Stole Christmas” Aloud

Dr. Seuss’s animated  TV show, “How the Grinch Stole Christmas!” has been a favorite for many years. Some time ago, my aunt started to sing the theme song and other tunes from the program, and to watch it with me. One year, I was inspired to give her the video as a Christmas present. We drag it out every year, and every year I see or hear something different in it. The rhythm of the words and the poetry. Even as a kid, I loved Dr. Seuss’s playfulness with language. But every year its central message becomes clearer: “Maybe Christmas, perhaps, doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.” My other favorite part is how “the Grinch’s small heart grew three sizes that day.”

 

 

It is of course narrated and sung by Boris Karloff–a huge departure from most projects in his career. It took a while for me to appreciate Boris Karloff. The movie of the original story has also been around for some years.

I always loved Max, the Grinch’s dog–the antithesis of his owner.

 

This year, I wanted to read the story. I have no memory of it being read to me, either by family, friends, or teachers. Today was challenging in many respects, so I sat my aunt down and insisted on reading it to her. She said, “Do we have to go through this again?” But as I read I showed her the pictures, and I think she liked it. The day ended with hugs. The book is different from the animated program in several ways, but it still retains the basic messages and themes.

 

Dr. Seuss's The Grinch

 

How the Grinch Stole Christmas book cover

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Books, Classics, Everyday Goings-On, Poetry

Leave a Reply

