I Never Realized Silhouette Art Could Be So Cool!

When I logged on to Google today, I discovered a beautiful Google Doodle about Lotte Reiniger, an early pioneer of stop-motion animation using silhouette cutouts. I never heard of her, and I was really taken with her art. A cursory search didn’t turn up any books on her life, Anyway, I thought it was pretty.  Today’s Google Doodle follows, along with a video of how it was made. I also chose a clip from one of the films she worked on: “The Adventures of Prince Achmed.” Here’s the website listed on YouTube: http://www.moviemartyr.com/blog/?p=313.

My own experience with silhouettes happened when I was 4. A lady came to our preschool and drew our portraits in silhouette. I wore a light blue dress with a pink tie, and my hair was in a ponytail. I remember holding  very still as the artist worked, and the lights shining around me. It turned out really well, and my mom framed it. I think I still have it somewhere.

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Film

One response to “I Never Realized Silhouette Art Could Be So Cool!

  1. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of
    colors!

Leave a Reply

